Construction of Steel Bridges

For many years now SCHORISCH has stood for the professional planning, production, installation and maintenance of steel bridges for Europe’s waterways.

Malchow Swing Bridge

For 150 years it has been the tradition for the inhabitants of Malchow to use a swing bridge to get from their island to the mainland which lies to the west. Up to 1845 the only link spanning the lake (the “Malchower See”) was a wooden bridge. When in 1846 a road embankment was built to the mainland to the south-east, the fixed wooden bridge had to be replaced by a lift bridge, since otherwise shipping would no longer have been able to pass around the east side of the island.

In 1863 the lift bridge was replaced by the first swing bridge which was made of wood, and at least 100 years ago it was replaced by the first steel construction which was then destroyed in 1945. For a time the people of Malchow had to make do with a temporary wooden bridge once again. In 1948 a swing bridge was built, but in later years there wasn’t enough money available for its upkeep. Joy over the building of the steel swing bridge in the late 1980s was also short-lived. It lasted for just 21 years because the structure was unsound.

Loading...
magdreh

The current structure was commissioned by the construction company Köthenbürger HTI, and it was jointly designed, built and installed by SCHORISCH’s Karstädt works and HTS Hydrotechnik Schlestein. Now it has finally been built sturdily enough to last for at least a hundred years. What’s more, it also provides 40 centimetres of additional vertical clearance so that small boats can sail under it without having to wait for it to be opened. The swing bridge is 21.7 metres long and eleven metres wide, so it’s still a tourist attraction.

The new swing bridge to the island town of Malchow is classed as an historic monument. In visual terms it’s designed to resemble a yacht. This technical monument consists of thousands of individual parts which have been welded together to form its three sections. After the individual sections – each of which is 22 metres long and weighs 40 tonnes – were delivered to the construction site along the narrow streets of the old town, a heavy duty crane was used to lift each of them in turn onto the installation site on the landward shore of the lake. The drivers of the heavy-haulage trucks had very little room for manoeuvre on the approach roads. They had to reverse for almost a mile through the very narrow streets until they reached the unloading point. Everything went without a hitch.
The towers and counterweights as well as the drive system were also renewed and installed ready for operation. The renewed high-tech landmark weighs 120 tonnes.

The current structure was commissioned by the construction company Köthenbürger HTI, and it was jointly designed, built and installed by SCHORISCH’s Karstädt works and HTS Hydrotechnik Schlestein. Now it has finally been built sturdily enough to last for at least a hundred years. What’s more, it also provides 40 centimetres of additional vertical clearance so that small boats can sail under it without having to wait for it to be opened. The swing bridge is 21.7 metres long and eleven metres wide, so it’s still a tourist attraction.

The new swing bridge to the island town of Malchow is classed as an historic monument. In visual terms it’s designed to resemble a yacht. This technical monument consists of thousands of individual parts which have been welded together to form its three sections. After the individual sections – each of which is 22 metres long and weighs 40 tonnes – were delivered to the construction site along the narrow streets of the old town, a heavy duty crane was used to lift each of them in turn onto the installation site on the landward shore of the lake. The drivers of the heavy-haulage trucks had very little room for manoeuvre on the approach roads. They had to reverse for almost a mile through the very narrow streets until they reached the unloading point. Everything went without a hitch.
The towers and counterweights as well as the drive system were also renewed and installed ready for operation. The renewed high-tech landmark weighs 120 tonnes.

Lübeck Swing Bridge

For over 120 years the historic swing bridge in the port of Lübeck has ensured that the ancient island city has been securely connected to the mainland. The thorough renovation of the 320-tonne listed structure meant that it had to be hoisted by an ENAK floating crane in order to be transported from its site on the Stadttrave waterway to Wallhafen dock.

At this mobile construction site the steel workers from Karstädt replaced about 2,000 rivets with new round-headed high-tensile bolts. In addition, steel trusses, ties and metal plates were replaced as necessary and bolted into place. The water hydraulic system, a feature of bridge construction at the time when it was built, is also being brought up to date. This system enables the bridge to be raised by 16 centimetres so that it can then be turned sideways.

Warnemünde

It’s almost 44 metres in length, and it’s one of the oldest swing bridges in Germany. The railway bridge in Warnemünde can once again be reliably rotated through 90 degrees – all thanks to the steel workers from Karstädt in Brandenburg. The SCHORISCH team completely renewed the rotational drive system and the bearings as part of contract awarded by the Hanseatic City of Rostock.

The Baltic seaside resort’s swing bridge was brought into service in 1903, and it’s not the first listed technical monument that the engineers and craftsmen from Karstädt have renovated. This is because they are the recognised specialists for the renovation of land- and water-based old steel structures.

“The renewal of such structures which are showing their age requires precision planning as well as considerable expertise and experience, and the welding that is involved is crucially important. In Warnemünde too – where the total span of the railway station bridge is 41.50 metres – the work was carried out with the utmost precision.

The rotating section by itself is 29.5 metres long. With a width of 7.10 metres the steel giant weighs in at an impressive 56 tonnes as measured by load cells. In order to carry out the renovation and welding operations hydraulic presses were used to raise the bridge by 65 centimetres, and it was then placed on support chocks.

Warnemünde

It’s almost 44 metres in length, and it’s one of the oldest swing bridges in Germany. The railway bridge in Warnemünde can once again be reliably rotated through 90 degrees – all thanks to the steel workers from Karstädt in Brandenburg. The SCHORISCH team completely renewed the rotational drive system and the bearings as part of contract awarded by the Hanseatic City of Rostock.

The Baltic seaside resort’s swing bridge was brought into service in 1903, and it’s not the first listed technical monument that the engineers and craftsmen from Karstädt have renovated. This is because they are the recognised specialists for the renovation of land- and water-based old steel structures.

“The renewal of such structures which are showing their age requires precision planning as well as considerable expertise and experience, and the welding that is involved is crucially important. In Warnemünde too – where the total span of the railway station bridge is 41.50 metres – the work was carried out with the utmost precision.

The rotating section by itself is 29.5 metres long. With a width of 7.10 metres the steel giant weighs in at an impressive 56 tonnes as measured by load cells. In order to carry out the renovation and welding operations hydraulic presses were used to raise the bridge by 65 centimetres, and it was then placed on support chocks.

Renovation of Steel Bridges

Stahlbrückenbau

Seit vielen Jahren ist SCHORISCH ein Garant für die professionelle Planung, Fertigung, Montage und Wartung von Stahlbrücken für Europas Wasserstraßen.

Drehbrücke Malchow

Seit 150 Jahren ist es Tradition, dass die Bürger von Malchow eine Drehbrücke nutzen, um von ihrer Insel zum westlichen Festland zu gelangen. Bis 1845 bestand die einzige Verkehrsanbindung über den Malchower See aus einer Holzbrücke. Als 1846 ein Straßendamm zum südöstlich gelegenen Festland gebaut wurde, musste die starre Holzkonstruktion durch eine Hubbrücke ersetzt werden, da der Schiffsverkehr die Insel auf östlicher Seite nicht mehr passieren konnte.

1863 wurde die Hubbrücke durch eine erste Drehbrücke aus Holz ersetzt und vor gut 100 Jahren entstand an ihrer Stelle die erste Stahlkonstruktion, die 1945 zerstört wurde. Wieder mussten sich die Malchower vorübergehend mit einer hölzernen Behelfsbrücke begnügen. Ab 1948 wurde eine Drehbrücke gebaut, für deren Sanierung in den Folgejahren allerdings das Geld fehlte. Auch die Freude über die stählerne Drehbrücke, die man Ende der 80er Jahre baute, war nur von kurzer Dauer. Sie hielt gerade einmal 21 Jahre, weil die Bausubstanz schlecht war.

Laden...
magdreh

Das aktuelle Bauwerk wurde im Auftrag der Baufirma Köthenbürger HTI von den SCHORISCH aus Karstädt gemeinsam mit HTS Hydrotechnik Schlestein konzipiert, gebaut und montiert. Es ist nun endlich so solide gebaut, dass es mindestens 100 Jahre halten kann. Außerdem bietet es 40 Zentimeter mehr Durchfahrthöhe, damit kleinere Schiffe ohne Wartezeit passieren können. Die Drehbrücke bleibt mit 21,70 Meter Länge und elf Meter Breite eine touristische Sehenswürdigkeit.

Die neue Drehbrücke der Inselstadt Malchow gilt als historisches Denkmal. Optisch ist sie einem Segelboot nachempfunden. Das technische Denkmal besteht aus Tausenden von Einzelteilen, die zu den drei Teilstücken zusammengeschweißt worden sind. Nachdem die jeweils 22 Meter lange und 40 Tonnen schweren Einzelteile durch die enge Altstadt zur Baustelle geliefert wurden, konnten sie von einem Schwerlastkran nacheinander auf die Vorrichtung am Ufer der Landseite gesetzt werden. Dabei war es für die Fahrer der Schwertransporter sehr eng. Denn sie mussten eineinhalb Kilometer im Rückwärtsgang durch die sehr schmalen Straßen bis zur Abladestelle fahren. Alles klappte reibungslos.

Die Masten und Gegengewichte sowie die Antriebstechnik wurden ebenfalls erneuert und funktionsfähig installiert. Das erneuerte technische Denkmal wiegt 120 Tonnen.

Das aktuelle Bauwerk wurde im Auftrag der Baufirma Köthenbürger HTI von den SCHORISCH aus Karstädt gemeinsam mit HTS Hydrotechnik Schlestein konzipiert, gebaut und montiert. Es ist nun endlich so solide gebaut, dass es mindestens 100 Jahre halten kann. Außerdem bietet es 40 Zentimeter mehr Durchfahrthöhe, damit kleinere Schiffe ohne Wartezeit passieren können. Die Drehbrücke bleibt mit 21,70 Meter Länge und elf Meter Breite eine touristische Sehenswürdigkeit.

Die neue Drehbrücke der Inselstadt Malchow gilt als historisches Denkmal. Optisch ist sie einem Segelboot nachempfunden. Das technische Denkmal besteht aus Tausenden von Einzelteilen, die zu den drei Teilstücken zusammengeschweißt worden sind. Nachdem die jeweils 22 Meter lange und 40 Tonnen schweren Einzelteile durch die enge Altstadt zur Baustelle geliefert wurden, konnten sie von einem Schwerlastkran nacheinander auf die Vorrichtung am Ufer der Landseite gesetzt werden. Dabei war es für die Fahrer der Schwertransporter sehr eng. Denn sie mussten eineinhalb Kilometer im Rückwärtsgang durch die sehr schmalen Straßen bis zur Abladestelle fahren. Alles klappte reibungslos.

Die Masten und Gegengewichte sowie die Antriebstechnik wurden ebenfalls erneuert und funktionsfähig installiert. Das erneuerte technische Denkmal wiegt 120 Tonnen.

Drehbrücke Lübeck

Seit über 120 Jahren sorgt die historische Hafen- Drehbrücke in Lübeck dafür, dass die alte Inselstadt mit dem Festland sicher verbunden ist. Für eine grundlegende Sanierung musste das denkmalgeschützte 320 Tonnen schwere Bauwerk vom Schwimmkran ENAK in die Höhe gehievt werden, um es von ihrem Standort an der Stadttrave in den Wallhafen zu transportieren.

Auf dieser mobilen Baustelle ersetzten die Karstädter Stahlbauer an die 2000 Nieten durch neue Rundkopf-HV-Schrauben. Außerdem wurden stählerne Fachwerkteile, Knoten und Bleche wenn nötig ausgetauscht und verschraubt. Auch die Wasserhydraulik, eine Besonderheit im Brückenbau der damaligen Zeit, wird wieder auf Vordermann gebracht. Durch diese Technik kann die Brücke zum Drehen um 16 Zentimeter angehoben werden.

Laden...
Laden...

Warnemünde

Mit ihren fast 44 Metern Länge gehört sie zu den ältesten Drehbrücken Deutschlands. Dass sich die Bahnhofsbrücke in Warnemünde überhaupt wieder störungsfrei um 90 Grad drehen lässt, ist das Verdienst von den Stahlbauern aus dem brandenburgischen Karstädt. Das Team von SCHORISCH hat sowohl den Drehantrieb als auch die Lagerung im Auftrag der Hansestadt Rostock grundlegend erneuert.

Die Drehbrücke des Ostseebades, die erstmals 1903 in Betrieb genommen wurde, ist nicht das erste technische Denkmal, dass die Ingenieure und Handwerker aus Karstädt saniert haben. Denn sie gelten als die Spezialisten für die Sanierung alter Stahlkonstruktionen zu Lande und zu Wasser.

„Die Erneuerung solcher Bauwerke, an denen der Zahn der Zeit nagt, verlangt exakte Planungen und viel Sachverstand und Erfahrung vor allem die Schweißtechnik spielt dafür eine herausragende Rolle. Auch in Warnemünde, wo die Gesamtstützweite der Bahnhofsbrücke stolze 41,50 Meter beträgt, wurde mit höchster Präzision gearbeitet.

Das Drehsegment allein hat eine Länge von 29,50 Meter. Bei einer Breite von 7,10 Meter ist der Stahlkoloss nach Gewichtsermittlung mittels Wägezellen stolze 56 Tonnen schwer. Für die Sanierungs- und Schweißarbeiten wurde er mit Hilfe hydraulischer Pressen um 65 Zentimeter angehoben und dann auf Pallungen festgesetzt.

Warnemünde

Mit ihren fast 44 Metern Länge gehört sie zu den ältesten Drehbrücken Deutschlands. Dass sich die Bahnhofsbrücke in Warnemünde überhaupt wieder störungsfrei um 90 Grad drehen lässt, ist das Verdienst von den Stahlbauern aus dem brandenburgischen Karstädt. Das Team von SCHORISCH hat sowohl den Drehantrieb als auch die Lagerung im Auftrag der Hansestadt Rostock grundlegend erneuert.

Die Drehbrücke des Ostseebades, die erstmals 1903 in Betrieb genommen wurde, ist nicht das erste technische Denkmal, dass die Ingenieure und Handwerker aus Karstädt saniert haben. Denn sie gelten als die Spezialisten für die Sanierung alter Stahlkonstruktionen zu Lande und zu Wasser.

„Die Erneuerung solcher Bauwerke, an denen der Zahn der Zeit nagt, verlangt exakte Planungen und viel Sachverstand und Erfahrung vor allem die Schweißtechnik spielt dafür eine herausragende Rolle. Auch in Warnemünde, wo die Gesamtstützweite der Bahnhofsbrücke stolze 41,50 Meter beträgt, wurde mit höchster Präzision gearbeitet.

Das Drehsegment allein hat eine Länge von 29,50 Meter. Bei einer Breite von 7,10 Meter ist der Stahlkoloss nach Gewichtsermittlung mittels Wägezellen stolze 56 Tonnen schwer. Für die Sanierungs- und Schweißarbeiten wurde er mit Hilfe hydraulischer Pressen um 65 Zentimeter angehoben und dann auf Pallungen festgesetzt.

Laden...

Sanierung Stahlbrücken